How Much Can a Motorcycle Shop Charge You for Storage Fees?

If you own a motorcycle shop, we can help you get paid quicker and make your life easier. Many motorcyclist don’t have collision coverage and we represent them for free for the collision damage.

If your motorcycle is towed to a repair shop after a motorcycle accident, you may be charged for towing, labor (because your motorcycle is an over-turned vehicle), storage and possibly disassembly fees.

How much a repair shop can charge you for towing and storing your motorcycle depends upon both local regulations in the town and NYS law.

New York regulations usually allow a maximum storage fee of $15 per day if your motorcycle is stored outside. If your motorcycle is stored inside, the shop must have a sign posted which indicates the storage fee. If your motorcycle has to be disassembled to provide an estimate, the shop may charge a disassembly fee.

This motorcycle was disassembled and stored outside
disassembled motorcycle in storage

Towing and storage charges are also regulated by the town. On Long Island, in the Town of North Hempstead, towing and storage regulations allow $125 towing charge which includes the first mile plus another $5 per mile plus a $15 fuel surcharge. Because a motorcycle will be lying on its side after an accident, motorcycles are subject to an additional labor fee of $50 allowed for “when the use of special skills is required to right an overturned vehicle”. Storage charges after seven days are allowed to increase to $30 per day.

New York Motor Vehicle Repair Shop Regulations PART 82.8 (c) (1) provides that a customer may not be charged for storage unless notice in writing is given by a statement on an estimate or other document given to the customer.

(2) Storage of the motorcycle may not be charged during the period from which the customer has authorized repairs to one business day after the repair shop has notified the customer to pick up the repaired motorcycle. (There is a contradiction on page 22 of the Motor Vehicle Repair Shop Regulations which states that the repair shop cannot begin charging for storage until two business days after they have notified you to pick up your motorcycle.

(d) Upon reasonable notice a customer may remove the motorcycle from a repair shop during the shop’s business hours upon paying for storage charges.

Know Your Rights | Information and Complaints about NY Inspection Stations, Repair Shops, Body Shops and Dealers | NYS DMV Vehicle Safety Complaint Unit tel phone: 518-474-8943

For information on towing your motorcycle in New York City, see the Towing Service Guide.

disassembled front for and wheel of motorcycle in storage

It’s best to remove your motorcycle as soon as possible from storage to mitigate (lessen) the damages for which the car that caused your motorcycle accident will be responsible for. If you are unable to remove your motorcycle, the insurance company insuring the car which caused your motorcycle accident should be notified that you are unable to remove the motorcycle from storage so they can prevent being responsible for even more money.

If there is any paint from the car on your motorcycle or other evidence showing where the car contacted your motorcycle, this could help to show that the driver was at fault for causing your accident.

If you had a motorcycle accident, please call us as soon as possible. We never charge a legal fee to help you recover the money for your motorcycle.